tortilla warmers – ah, how I love them!

I’ve been making tortilla warmers for about three years now, after finding a free pattern on http://allfreesewing.com, on a site called Leafy Treetop Spot (tutorial posted in 2010). Today I did a Google search and found that there are a LOT of tutorials and helps out there for these! I just found a site called Sew Much More (tutorial posted in 2008) that did the bias binding a lot like a few that I’ve done, which surprised me. I thought I’d made that idea up – seems great minds think alike! But that’s OK, I like being in the company of great mind-thinkers, especially while I’m sitting here feeding both body and brain. Yes, it’s lunchtime again, and after woofing . . . er . . . daintily nibbling . . . oh, OK – WOOFING – my lunch in three gobbles (hiccup), I find I have about 55 minutes of my hour lunch left to do whatever I want. And what I wanted was to search for tortilla warmer ideas.

The instructions on Sew Much More gave a size measurement for the circles. Well, to be quite frank (or Frankie, since I’m a girl), I’ve never measured the circles. I just laid a tortilla on my pot lids, and found one that worked as a template, and used that. I have a small one for corn tortillas and a large one for the flour tortillas. The rest of the instructions were almost the same as mine, except I cut two circles from plain cotton (usually white or unbleached) for the inside of the warmer, and two in my favorite (or whatever I have at the moment) all-cotton patterned fabric for the outside. I just like the idea of not having the pattern on the inside.

Another thing I really love is the quilting – got that from the leafy treetop tute. I’ve found it to be quite helpful, especially when I wash the tortilla warmer. The batting doesn’t shift or bunch. Now, I’m not entirely certain if that would happen without the quilting step because I’ve never made a warmer without doing this. Who knows, it could be a small enough project that such a worry is unfounded (it isn’t included in the Sew Much More tutorial). Still, I’d rather err on the side of overkill.

And now I find yet ANOTHER idea for finishing the circles! This site, e-how.com, has more than one tutorial. This one says to sew each set of circles (one set for the top, one for the bottom of the warmer) right sides together with the batting, then turn right side out and slip-stitch the opening where you turned it. No instructions here about quilting the warmer, either, by the way. The next step was a bit confusing to me – I think they meant to sew bias binding on there, but for the life of me, I can’t figure out why you’d need it if the raw edges are already encased. Oh well, could just be my reasoning spot is a little cloudy right now because I haven’t had dessert. Dessert always clears my thinking.

So, have any of you gone to these three sites and tried their tutorials? Any preferences on these three methods? Personally, I prefer a combination of the first two, which is what I’ve been using.

Time for tea and crumpets. I need to think about this stuff some more.

Sure hope Little Lubby is home tomorrow! Hopefully this is the last day of lunchtime postings.

10 thoughts on “tortilla warmers – ah, how I love them!

    • So do I! I get their emails daily, and am a frequent visitor to their pages. I just never know what I’ll find – some of my stuff even got featured on their Facebook page a few times. Made me happy! 😆

      Like

        • Funny thing is, I didn’t think they’d feature mine, but they did it about three times. I was STOKED! Just go to their Facebook page and post a picture of your work – I would venture to say that if they’re still doing that (featuring Facebook contributions, I mean), you’d stand a great chance of being chosen.

          Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

