My glorious, amazing mistake

But hey, it’s art.

I just had to try something yesterday, with a HUGE reversible vest I’d bought at Goodwill – mostly for the buttons. But I wondered about making a bag using reversible fabric, with no lining. So I set out to give ‘er a shot. And I tried not to shoot myself in the foot in the process.

Here is what I came up with. This experiment has proven one thing to me – well, maybe two things. First, I don’t like this style of purse inΒ this type of fabric. Second, the next one I make will have stiff interfacing and a lining. This one is way too floppy to suit me, but at least it’s pretty fabric. πŸ™‚ I got so engrossed in the project, though, that I only remembered to take pictures of making that first pocket.

I did discover why the vest had smaller pockets on one side – so they could be sewn on first and the ones for the reverse sewn on over them. duh. I shoulda known that…now I do! So I just used the same technique when sewing on all. those. pockets!

17 thoughts on “My glorious, amazing mistake

    • Thank you so much! I did learn a few things from this experiment – other than what I mentioned. For one, I know how to cut the flap now (it was one piece with the back instead of a separate flap sewn on) so that it fits correctly. I’ve always wanted to try that and see if I could do a flap as part of the back piece. I can!! πŸ˜†

      Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yeah, ain’t that the truth!! I won’t make the mistakes I made with this purse in the next one – it will have a whole new set of mistakes all ready and waiting for me. No need to carry these over, eh? πŸ˜† …’course…I *might* manage to sneak a couple of these mistakes in while nobody’s looking.

      Like

    • I thought of and almost added a bright red accent. I still might, in the form of some buttons I have. It’s about 9 in tall by 11 in wide by 3.5 in deep. But of course, very floppy as it is only one thickness of fabric (no lining, no interfacing).

      Liked by 1 person

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

