My summer of discontent

Well, the summer hasn’t gone exactly as planned.

My big vision was to pare down the content of the sewing room to a manageable level by making lots and lots of cute, adorable, useful stuff. And not bring more fabric in than what went out!

Didn’t happen.

Instead of making all those aforementioned items and discontenting my room, I have instead recontented it. I know, that’s not technically a word, but it fits. I used up a whoppin’ 3 yards of fabric, and brought in at LEAST 10…maybe more. Let’s see now, how does that compute? Goal: get rid of at least 10 yards. Reality: used 3 yards, brought in 10 more. Difference: a whole lot!

About the only thing I’ve actually made in the last few weeks (other than a huge mess, which doesn’t count) have been some tea towels and a skirt/blouse ensemble. And naturally, I not only made that ensemble – I proceeded to remake it . . . and remake it again. I must love my seam ripper a lot!

This is what happens to me when I try to be smart and enlarge a pattern without making a muslin first. The waistline on the blouse (Simplicity #1364) was pretty close – but the shoulders?? Not so much.

and this was after the second remake!

and this was after the second remake!

The shoulder seams hung down at least 1.5 inches below my actual shoulder; but hey, I got the sleeve size right, at least. And the skirt (Simplicity #1369) hung a bit low in the front and hiked up in the back – no doubt due to my lack of military bearing. That only took one remake, and doesn’t look all that bad now, at least not enough to keep me from wearing it.

I don’t feel too badly about all this, though, since I’ve not sewn a whole lot of clothes for myself, and have not tried to alter a skirt/blouse pattern in the recent past. Next time I’ll know a little bit more and maybe do a little bit better.

Not to be dissuaded from my goal, there is a WIP on the sewing room table, which should remove another item from my fabric inventory. I have an idea for a messenger bag and a jeans purse, thereby using up one entire pair of jeans and at least a yard of lining fabric.

What have y’all been doing this summer? Hope you’re contented with your (fill in the blank) ________ room content.

It’s late, so I must go do my nightly inspection now. Gotta check the inside of my eyelids for holes. Good night………………………….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

14 thoughts on “My summer of discontent

  1. Pretty outfit! And well done! You’ve heard of an off the shoulder sleeve, right? Well, that’s what you meant to do I’m sure. Just go with it. My hems always seem a little off kilter too. Now I understand it’s because of my lack of military background. Feels better somehow than thinking I’m build crooked. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks – and you’re welcome! 😆 It’s gotta be that lack of military bearing – it can’t be that I’m built crooked. 😆
      Well, yes, I have heard of off the shoulder sleeves…but these make me look DECIDEDLY un-military. As Barney Fife loved to say, “Suck in that gut!” Reckon I’d better practice more “chin up, shoulders back, stomach in” and other prepositional phrases. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally know the feeling…! You’ll find me stuffing 5 lbs of stuff in a 2 lb bag regularly…! Good job on the skirt & blouse…I have not had much luck in making clothes for myself… that’s probably why I stick to furniture! And those jeans!!! Yes the leg would make a cute flap on a messenger bag! You must finish that!! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m thinking those jeans legs are gonna make a pretty neato-nifty-keano messenger bag. I wanna use one design as a back pocket (the top part of that leg will be the front of the bag), and the other as the back and flap. Now to figure out how to make the back/flap as one piece and not have to cut it………..cogwheels a’ turnin’ in my brain!!

      Like

  3. Well, aren’t you the talented one! I’m impressed with the design and alterations of the top and skirt. I’ve mostly read and kept the house clean and neat for HousePeepers, worked in/with garden produce, and the rest is the usual bits and pieces of life. Tonight, the Mr. and I worked on the next phase of our finances. Time to make some decisions. HELP!!! I completed some stash buster projects today. Life in the Slow Lane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, to have some garden produce to work with! Our tiny container gardening experiment in the back yard is way behind everybody else. We’ve only gotten a couple of ripe tomatoes and a handful of strawberries, but we did manage to get enough green beans to serve our 8 guests this past Sunday. That was pretty cool.
      Boy, I feel for ya on the budget stuff. I still haven’t done the August budget and it’s already almost half over!! Egad!!!!

      Like

  4. the dress looks great – I don’t notice anything wrong with it, you look like a star!! 🙂 My summer has been a whirlwind, but I think I am back in sewing mode, played around with my embroidery machine and almost have my squares done for my log cabin quilt. woo hoo!! Speaking of embroidery machines, what can I do to get the thread to stop bunching up underneath? Am I not stretching the material too tight? Seems to happen when it does the satin stitch.

    Like

    • Thanks so much – yup, I shoulda bought stock in that venture, instead of just paying into it (I’ve bought a LOT of these lil jewels). If I had, I’d probably be retired now. 😆

      Like

  5. I’m glad I’m not the only one whose dresses don’t always come out right. I used to have a dress form, but couldn’t keep lugging it around with me from house to house, country to country, city to city. I’ve never made a muslin, either. But it may be worth it to try that next time. I’m tired of having dresses I can’t wear.

    Like

    • Yah ya got that right! I did rework the blouse and make it fit better. But I still don’t like the facings – they’ll go next! 🙂 I’m not giving up, though…just learning from the mistakes and going on. Maybe a muslin would be a good idea after all! 😆

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

