Now, what state do we live in again??

We’re finally home, after three weeks, 19 states, and 7460 miles on the road. Some states were merely corridors to pass through to the next state. In some I only got a few drive-by shootings as I went, but at least those pictures tell a general story of the areas we passed through. The problem with many of those photos was that I don’t know the first thing about lighting.

Well – let me rephrase that. I do know the first thing about lighting: that you have to have it. It’s that second thing, and all subsequent things, that gets me bumfuzzled. I won’t quit my day job to be a photographer, but I enjoyed taking them.

We created memories every single day. And when anything went not exactly according to plan (like being asked to leave a restaurant), or didn’t quite meet our expectations (like the very next restaurant), or was just plain out-of-the-usual-routine (like that tarantula’s warning), we just said, “Oh well, it’s all part of the experience.”

We added quite a few “experience enhancers” to this trip, but overall it’s been a wonderful, once in a lifetime vacation.

One of my favorite parts of the trip was when my sister and I decided to visit an antique store in Corydon, Indiana. No, the store itself wasn’t an antique – it sold antiques. I found a piece of fabric there that I just had to buy. Hubby thought I might possibly be wasting my hard-earned $20 for this purchase.  But hey, what can I say? I like fabric.

fabric

the fabric I found in Corydon

My sister at first thought it was barkcloth (I didn’t hear a sound from it myself), but it turned out to be cotton jacquard. Since I’m not very good at fabric identification (I can usually tell the difference between cotton and silk, at least), I looked it up online. The selvedge had the name of the designer (Raymond Waites), the pattern name (Ancient King), and the fabric store where it was sold (Mill Creek Fabrics). I saw that it was selling for about $16 per yard (+ shipping) on eBay, so I thought $20 for 3 yards was a pretty good deal. See, honey – I WASN’T wasting my hard-earned $20!!

We probably took close to 2000 photos altogether, but I’ll only share a few of my favorites. Hubby was having a wonderful time, in his favorite type of landscape – rocks and trees. We saw LOTS of rocks and trees!

Anyway, we’re back to work and to our regularly scheduled programs. How were YOUR last three weeks??

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “Now, what state do we live in again??

    • I think the lady running the store didn’t really know what she had in there – she was still setting things up. I don’t feel bad at all about thinking it was barkcloth, since that’s what the sign said. 😆

      Like

  1. You are a witty woman!! I laughed out loud with your lighting comment- my camera and I have disagreements all the time…! Love your style!! And man that sounded like one heck of a trip! ♥

    Like

    • Well, right now my camera and I are about to have a parting of the ways. I’m not speaking to it! It decided on the trip (right after we left Charleston) that it would dummy up on me and make the shutter stick at the most inopportune times. I missed a lot of good drive-bys that way, the creep. Oh well, I guess I’ll be gracious and forgive it (GRRRRR) one more time, at least until I save enough to replace it. Other than that, the trip was wonderful – a once-in-a-lifetime for us. I’d do it again tomorrow!!

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

