more skirting??

This is getting to be a habit! I just KNEW if I made one skirt it would fling a cravin’ on me for more.

I found another tutorial on allfreesewing.com, and just had to try it out. Hubby came in and looked at it about halfway through. He said, “That’s nice. It’s kinda big though, isn’t it?” “Well, honey,” sez I, “that’s cuz your wife is fat.” He says I’m too hard on myself. I say I’m trying to be realistic. Who’s right??

This is my first pleated skirt since high school Home Ec. Since it’s been so long, I wanted to make a muslin first, to see how long it took and how hard it was to do. First view:

The tutorial said it was a weekend project; I think I did pretty well on the first making. It took about 4 1/2 hours, partly because I decided to hem it by hand. All in all, the skirt has been fun to try, and not as hard to make as I first thought it would be, after I figured out what she meant on how to fold the pleats into place.

I know, I know, I’m never satisfied with my projects. Well, I’m doing better – I only remade this once! I found that hubby was right, it WAS too big. I did measure it, I promise – but it’s harder than I thought to measure myself. I somehow got it two inches too big in the waist. So, off came the waistband, and I took in the front side pleats one inch each. It’s also scratchy! The original pattern didn’t include a lining, but this wool blend really needed one. I used an old halloween costume I found in a free box at a yard sale – cha ching! Saved money on that part of the project!

Also, the instructions didn’t say a thing about putting a button or snap above the zipper, so I just took that upon myself to include. 🙂 I actually think I was supposed to have the zipper all the way to the top of the waistband, but it ended up just below the band. Oh well, I managed to get the invisible zipper in the right way the first time, so I wasn’t about to take THAT out again. The only thing to do, then, was to add a button on that two inches of extra waistband left after I adjusted the pleats.

Here’s the remake. Of the skirt, that is . . . the “me” remake is a work in progress – 6 pounds down and only 23 to go!

So, whatcha think? Is it a keeper or a tosser? Should I seriously consider using it to line my garbage can, or line it up with a nice blouse and wear it?

7 thoughts on “more skirting??

    • Thanks so much. Last night I discovered I have some material that would make a very cute blouse to go with it, so I guess it WILL be a keeper. 🙂 Who knows – maybe even a matching jacket! It could happen.

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

