I’ve finally stopped skirting the issue

Some things are just out of my realm. Show me a purse, and I can usually figure out a way to make it, or at least something similar. Tortilla warmers, bibs, mug-rugs, oven mitts? No problem. Even aprons are within my Hmm…I think I can do this realm. But clothing?? Nah. Not without a pattern and a clear set of instructions.

Until today.

I seem to have an issue with making clothes, especially for myself. I haven’t done that since high school Home Ec!! But, after reading a whole bunch of It’s easy, you can do it clothing tutorials on allfreesewing.com, I finally decided it was time to stop skirting the issue. So I made a skirt – with issues. OK, so it looks homemade. I can live with that.

Several of the tutorials were about making simple elastic-waist skirts, so I thought, “Hey, maybe it IS so easy I can do it. I’ll give it a try.” Naturally, I had (count ’em!) none of said tutorials in front of me when I embarked on this adventure, so I did it purely from memory and makeup. I remembered a few of the pointers, and I made up others as I went. Not bad for a first try in ____ years, eh? Here’s my attempt at my own It’s easy, you can do it tutorial. If you can make a skirt using this, I will be very, very happy. If you can’t . . . well . . . reckon I’d better get busy and do a better job on the next one.

First thing was to figure out how big it had to be. I wanted the skirt to be loose fitting, so I measured the biggest part of me (not my mouth!) and added about 16 inches. For the length, I wanted it to come just below the knee. Anything longer than that makes me look about 2 feet tall and 4 feet wide. I don’t like being a 2X4.

I added 3 1/2 inches to the length, to allow for the hem and the elastic casing. That meant I needed a piece 60X26. I marked the measurements on my fabric and cut one large rectangle. That meant I only had to do one side seam, making the rectangle into a tube. I had intended to use a 1/2-inch seam allowance, but ended up at 1/4-inch. So to fix that and try to avoid fraying, I ironed it open and stitched up each side of the seam at 1/8-inch. Next was the hem. I folded it under 1/2-inch and ironed it down. I sewed that down and turned it under again at 5/8 inch, sewing about 1/2 inch in from the fold. That gave a nice clean finish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to the casing! I measured 1/4-inch from the top, ironed that down, and folded it again at 2 1/4 inches for the 2-inch elastic. I sewed that down about 1/8-inch from the edge (I just noticed I said 1/4-inch on the picture. Wrong! It’s 1/8 inch), leaving about 2 1/4 inches open to feed the elastic through. 

Using a safety pin to feed the elastic was a big help. Many of those tutorials had suggested this step, but I did it because that’s how my mother used to do it. She could make anything! I inherited many of her traits, including her ability to use a safety pin for feeding elastic. I also inherited her wisdom in pinning the other side of the elastic down so it didn’t feed right on through before its time.

After I got all the elastic fed through, and the two ends pinned together, I sewed them with a zig-zag stitch and eased the sewn part into the opening. Then I sewed that opening closed, making sure I had the elastic out of the way. After that, I evened out the gathers and paraded around the sewing room in my brand new skirt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s the finished product. I haven’t ventured into the great outdoors clad in my fancy new duds yet, but I will. I will.

definitely not a model

definitely not a model

tucked or untucked?? untucked!

tucked or untucked?? untucked!

8 thoughts on “I’ve finally stopped skirting the issue

  1. Homemade? NOT! Your finishing is more professional than the professionals do! I agree about the untucked. I always untuck. Makes me feel taller. I know I’m fooling myself, but that’s ok. So, are you bitten by the skirt bug? What’s next? Pencil? A-line? Flippy? Circle?

    Like

    • Well, to be honest, I’m already thinking of redoing this one, taking out some of the fullness and using smaller elastic. I didn’t really like the feel of it on my waist. And yes, I do believe another one is about to make an appearance on the cutting table. I want to try my hand at an A-line and a pleated one. Pencil isn’t for this ol’ fat girl. I need something more like a magic marker instead. 😆

      Like

  2. I think you did a great job and I have to agree some of the “professional” clothing lines look slip shod. You also made me lol with the wit of your writing so it is a win-win!

    Like

    • thanks so much. It’s actually back on the remake table, cuz it shrank when I washed it and too short now. But I can fix that! 😆 Reckon that’s what I get for not washing the fabric before making the skirt.

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

