they have names. they all have names.

They’ve given you a number, and taken ‘way your name.

We all have names; even secret agents have names. Ask ol’ Jimmy-boy. He may tell you his number is 007, but his NAME is Bond. James Bond.

Hello. My name is Girl. Lubby Girl. I live in the USA, and I have a husband and children and family and friends and a dog. His name is Boy. Spencer Boy (well, I can’t say his name is Girl. Spencer Girl, now, can I?). Husband’s name is Hubby.

I once thought my name was Charlie Brown, but it’s not. That’s my complex’s name. See, even a complex has a name – we all have a name!

When I was a kid, I used to pretend my name was Marsha. Funny – I don’t even like that name much any more (sorry, all you Marshas in the world…sad but true). Back then it sounded sophisticated and worldly to me. It sounded like success.

Marsha, dahling, what have you done with this place? It’s perfectly mahvelous!

You’re the famous Marsha? Oh, please . . . would you autograph this copy of your latest book for me?

Dr. Marsha, Dr. Marsha! Can you save him? Oh, I knew you could!

It’s Marsha – the world-renowned singer. Please, Marsha the Magnificent, sing for us!!

My dear Marsha, could you spare a moment to teach these young ladies the finer points of painting? Thank you so much – you’re the epitome of artistic genius.

Lies. The whole thing. I wasn’t Marsha then, and I’m not Marsha now. I’m not an interior decorator, but I can arrange a room. I’m not a doctor, but I can affix a Band-Aid. Nor am I an artist, but I can draw a pretty mean stick figure. And I’m certainly not a singer, but I love to sing anyway. Nope, you guessed it, not a famous author either – but I can write . . . and I can sew.

I’m just me, and I’m OK with that. I have a name that fits the me that I am. I don’t have to be The Great Pretender any more. And neither do you.

Good night. Don’t forget your name.

(written partly from sleep-depravation and partly in response to the writing challenge, “The Great Pretender.”)

13 thoughts on “they have names. they all have names.

    • I love that quote! And there was another one that just cracked me up, in an old Popeye cartoon, where Wimpy had dressed up as Popeye to get the hamburgers Olive Oyl had made. Olive Oyl was fooled, and told Popeye he ought to be ashamed of himself for looking like Popeye. He sat down and said, “But if I’m not me, who am I? And if I’m somebody else, why do I look like me?”

      Like

  1. very good read~ I love the quotes you and tableofcolors shared too! what a great response to the writing challenge! God bless!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the inspiration and for letting us remember to never forget our name or many names that reflects who we are. My wife calls me Luv but calls me by my full name when she’s mad at me. Crazy right?

    Like

    • That’s funny but familiar. 😆 When I was a kid and my mother called me by my middle name only, I knew I was done for! I call hubby “honey” but I call him by his first name when I’m upset with him. If I ever used his full name, oh boy look out!! 😆

      Like

  3. Growing up, I didn’t like my name either. Sometimes I would give my name to strangers as Nancy. Mom wasn’t pleased with that stunt! In college I used my middle name. Mom wasn’t pleased with that stunt either! I’m still not comfortable with my name, but it is what it is. Perhaps I need a nickname.

    Like

    • You chose Nancy, I chose Marsha…funny the things we do as kids. I used to even hate to say my name, much less hear someone else say it, but my late husband got me out of that. It was one of his favorite names, he told me when we met, and before he even knew my middle name, he told me Susan was another favorite of his. I guess I won out over the Diane (his 3rd favorite and the name of a former girlfriend from his youth). My husband now also likes my name, so I’ll just keep it. 😆

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

