The Saturday Sewing Circle starts Thursday

I am forever putting things down and forgetting where I put them. Thursday about 10 p.m. I was feeling kinda lost, and I wondered where I put myself. There I was, wandering through the house – Spencer at my heels, helping me look. He thought he’d found me in the kitchen, right near his doggy dish. But no . . . I found me in the sewing room, making a cute heart mug-rug. I found the idea for it on a new blog I just started following, called annearoundthecurve2. She has a link to the tutorial for these, if you’d like to try them also. I love her coasters! They’re done with reverse applique, a technique I’ve tried on purses in the past, but didn’t know it had an actual name. I used some of the lining fabric from the tote I made last weekend, and a piece of flowered fabric in my scrap bin. The little blue coaster I made in January; the heart one is bigger – more a mug-rug than a coaster. I like big mugs, what can I say?? These are so fun to make, and so quick, that I think I’ll make a pile of them when I’m feelin’ all scrappy and sewy but don’t want to start a big, involved project. Hey – I might even personalize them and embroider a name or something!!

Well, it’s Saturday, and I found myself back in the sewing room at 6 a.m. I thought to myself, “Lubby ol’ girl, why don’t you just start a Saturday Sewing Circle?” Which is what I did. I went around in circles in my sewing room, remaking things I’d already made. Why can’t just do it right the first time! Ah, but that is one of those deep, dark mysteries that rule my life. I decided the tote I made last weekend needed a flap added. I didn’t have any of the flowered fabric left, but I did have quite a bit in that keychain. So I took the keychain apart and used it for a flap.  I even redid the coin purse – just did not like those pulls, so I took ’em out and sewed them together to make a bigger loop on one side, and had a tiny piece for a pull on the other side. Yup, I was going in sewing circles, but I don’t think all this remaking was a total waste of time, because I do like the tote, the coin purse, and the keychain much better now. 

What are you doing this weekend?? Got any big makes going? Got any big remakes?? I’m going to make myself scarce now, and find something else that needs done/redone around here.

Did you hear that? I hear my name being called . . . .

What? What’s that? Oh, I need to make some bibs now? OK, be right there!!

Gotta go now, y’all. Have a wonderful, blessed weekend!! 😆

6 thoughts on “The Saturday Sewing Circle starts Thursday

  1. I love the heart coaster you made. Turned out great. I like them larger too, so the next ones (I am really going to make MORE???) will be larger – more like a mug rug. How are you making the bibs? I have a baby shower to attend Tuesday afternoon so I’m thinking they would make nice gifts for the mom-to-be.

    Like

    • Thanks! I have the mug-rug right beside my bed for when I have my tea in the mornings. I love it! As for the bib, I just bought fusible vinyl today and I’m going to try making one using that on the back. I’ve never used it before, so hope it goes OK!

      Like

  2. I didn’t do any sewing today, but I did build a big ‘industrial’ type shelving unit and organized part of the guest/sewing/storage room. Now my sewing machine, etc are off the floor and I can get to them easier.

    Like

  3. You make me giggle. You are so creative, and you are so humble. I love the way you keep reinventing things. I think that some of us (me) want it perfect the first time around, and that is why we have so many “works-in-progress”; with out a lot of finishes to report!! I do a lot of the wandering around myself, trying to figure out what is next!

    Like

    • That’s why I’m the REmissionary! Not only do I reinvent the item – I reinvent the reinvention of said item. 😆 Seems I can’t leave something alone, always gotta go back and do something else to it. But I figure it keeps me out of trouble and gives (as Hercule Poirot would say) the little grey cells something to feed upon. 😆

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

