one pouch, two pouch, three pouch, four…

…five pouch, six pouch, seven pouch – MORE!

I need cash pouches; those little envelopes are starting to tear and get dog-eared. But it’s not Spencer’s fault – he hasn’t laid a paw on any of them!

There’s a very good explanation for this need. We are on a budget, and certain categories we use cash for: our allowances (yes, we get an allowance!), gas, groceries, and ‘fun fund’ (for going out to eat, movies, bowling, etc). And we’ve been carrying it around in envelopes for some time. I want more secure (and prettier) places to carry these funds.

When I got the ‘wishbag in the mail from “a woven life,” I thought, hey, I need to make some of these! So I’m going to do just that. I have actually had this on my mind for a long time, but haven’t figured out how I wanted to make them.  Should I put them together into one unit, or leave them individual? Since the committee never came back (they’re STILL out) on that one, I just made an executive decision and went for experimenting with three different styles. Nothin’ like variety to add jalapeño to your life, right?

Several options are all over the internet for making these little pouches – today I’m sharing one of my contributions. So far I’ve gotten two made, but don’t be greedy. One at a time, OK?? This first one, I must admit, feels like an epic FAIL, but I’m determined to use it, since i used up my cute little chicken square I’ve been jealously hoarding. Now it’s serving as my “egg money” pouch – AKA the grocery money.

OK – here was the plan. I cut all the pieces the same size.

Lining and outer pieces: 7″ wide by 4″ tall (first mistake!)

shoulda cut it 5 X 8

shoulda cut it 5 X 8

Interfacing: 6.5″ wide by 3.5″ tall (I like to use iron-on)

interfacing

Zipper: 5″ (second mistake – count along with me, now) – should’ve used a 7″

Plain white thread – I used what I had, and I had no pretty blue to match the chicken fabric.

Pins or Wonder Clips (love those things)

I had already washed/dried the material, so the next step was to iron it. I included 1/4″ seam allowance because I used cotton material that doesn’t ravel out very much. If you use a material that ravels more, you might want to make the seam allowance bigger and zigzag the edges, or use a serger if you have one (I don’t).

I cut the interfacing and ironed it onto the wrong side of the lining material. Next, I sandwiched the zipper between the lining and the outer piece. So far so good. Mistake number three is on the way, don’t despair!

sandwich

My first run over the sandwich ended up pretty bad – upchuck that one. I know, gross, but graphic. I had to rip it out and start over, because somehow I had moved the lining about 1/8 inch down on the whole thing, so it didn’t line up with the chickens when I was done. OK – breathe in, breathe out. Got through that.

I tried again – same thing. Rip, tear, but NEVER swear. Got it out again. Third time, got it right!!

Uhm . . . well . . . not exactly. There was a *slight* problem when I turned the lining back to look at the zipper. Here’s where you DON’T want to follow along – just go on out to the kitchen now and get a cuppa or a sandwich or something, while I finish my whine.

See, I had (promise you won’t laugh) put the zipper in upside down. It’s supposed to face the outer fabric so it opens UP when it’s done.

now, THIS is how it should be facing!

now, THIS is how it should be facing!

HEY – I HEARD THAT! YOU LAUGHED!!

Anyway, my whine is all used up. I took the seam out yet AGAIN and turned the zipper the proper direction, looking the chickens eyeball to eyeball. That time: SUCCESS ! The other side went much better, only took it out twice.

life is good

After the sides were sewn onto the zipper, I wanted to top-stitch before I sewed the front and the lining together.

top stitching

Next step was to put lining to lining and outer to outer, right sides together (rst), and sew around the entire perimeter, cleverly remembering to leave an opening somewhat bigger than three of my fingers so I could turn it right side out. OH – and this is vital, so take notes here: don’t forget to leave the zipper halfway open! If you forget this step, you might as well get your whine out and go for it, cuz you’re gonna be using a lot of it right about now.

And here is where mistake number FOUR made its grand appearance. I just couldn’t seem to get one side of the zipper to come out right, so I took the seam out again. Now, I must mention here that in my pomposity and arrogant self-assurance (after all, hadn’t I conquered mistakes one through three?), I confidently snipped the corners in preparation for the final step. That meant I had no extra to fix the problem I had created by forgetting to make sure the ends of the zipper were turned toward the lining, and to NOT sew over the zipper but right up to it. Finally I admitted defeat and left them slightly wonky. Wonky is better than total annihilation of the whole project.

snip it

Ready for mistake number FIVE? OK – here it is. I forgot to make the little zipper pulls for each side of the zipper. But not to worry!! Ingenuity and plain doggedness pay off. I quickly (while nobody was looking) folded the last little strip of the chickens in half, ironed it, then folded the two ends toward the fold I’d just made. I ran a seam up each side of that piece (bless those little chicken hearts), cut it into two pieces, and inserted the pulls into the areas I had JUST picked out for the repair work on mistake number FOUR. voila! Success.

zip pulls

And the finished product? Usable, but not nearly as great as I’d wanted. It’s smaller than my imagination gave it credit for. I’ll have to make some critical adjustments on my imagination station.

outside

(remind me to tell you about japanese chickens)

inside

Well, tell me what you think. You may notice I neglected to include a poll here, so a comment will have to suffice.

Stay tuned for the FUN FUND!

16 thoughts on “one pouch, two pouch, three pouch, four…

    • isn’t that just a teeth-grinder!! Oh, I hate it. But I think it will still work. I sure wish I could find more of that chicken material – it was given to me a few years ago. It says, “here chick chick” – I love it! 😆

      Like

  1. Your sewing escapades (doesn’t that make mistakes sound like fun?) are like many of my sewing projects. Seam ripping, “oh no!” moments, and “I’m going to finish this if it’s the last thing I do” determination. And your egg money pouch turned out good after all! I’m looking forward to seeing your Fun Fund project 🙂

    Like

    • Yep, I think ‘escapades’ sounds way more fun than ‘mistakes’ any day! I just wish I could conquer that zipper ‘escapade’! I just don’t what I’m doing that’s escapady. 😆

      Like

  2. I love those red clips! Really great if you are doing anything with PUL fabric…no holes in fabric for leaks. I made “diaper pail bags” and pinned before I had those clips….yuck. Thanks for all your tips and your honesty in the process. I thought I was the only one who spends a lot of time with the seam ripper.
    By the way; you were my “best comment” on my 100th post! So, if you havent yet, send me an email with a mailing address. I want to send you some pretty little fat quarters from Texas! Mary – live2skide@yahoo.com — stitching grandma

    Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

