I’m a tortoise with a hare trigger

One of my favorite evening activities (besides sleeping) is reading WordPress blogs, particularly the ones about sewing. After focusing on getting all the projects in front of me finished before 5:00 p.m., it helps me relax and wind down to a turtle-crawl. No deadlines, no calendar, no time clock – just whatever sewing project that’s on the table at the moment. I can work at my own pace on those, unless I’m doing one for somebody else. I’m slow, but steady . . . well . . . usually.

I do have a hare trigger sometimes, though – rushing to fabric sales, darting down pattern aisles, chasing that illusive ‘perfect project,’ and then hurrying through just to get it done. But, that doesn’t work so well for me – at least not for any length of time.

What does work, then? Well, I hate to admit it, but it’s that slow, steady plodding through. Rushing never gets me anything but a date with the seam ripper. True story. So today, since I was told (aw shucks, do I really have to??) I should stay home from work and ‘rest’ after a little excitement last night, I ‘rested’ by starting on a mini-quilt for my friend.

She’s picked out some cute material for her niece, who likes rubber duckies. Who doesn’t like rubber duckies!! But, as I haven’t worked with knits before, I’m wondering how to best put these two pieces together. She doesn’t want any batting because it’s to be a lightweight lap rug, just to knock the chill off (it doesn’t get all that cold in Alabama, y’all).

This is where the tortoise needs to take over, because my first impulse is to jump in with those great big harey feet (yup, harey is a word now) and start sewing willy to nilly. Then I’d be jumping right back out and bunny-hopping over to my buddy the seam ripper. So, step one was to lay the material out so I could look at it. Gotta love that big table!

yellow rubber duckies and soap bubbles - cuteness!

yellow rubber duckies and soap bubbles – cuteness!

Well, this is going to be interesting. Here’s the backing material, a stretchy knit. I like the little raised pink bumps, but I’m not sure how I’m going to do, working with this material. Any suggestions??

"Don't worry, little duckie - I've got yer back!"

“Don’t worry, little duckie – I’ve got yer back!”

My idea was to sew around random duckies as a way to quilt this. I put it in the machine and lowered the presser feet, thinking I could just move it around in free motion; didn’t work. Reckon I need to read the manual. Or maybe . . . invest in a walking foot for this machine.  Oh well, not to worry. It will just take a little bit longer than I thought, as long as I control that hare trigger.

Those pins hurt when they stick, did you know that? Well, I’m here to tell you, THEY DO! But my dear friend, always thinking of others. She also gave me a cool tool made by Dritz. I’d not seen the likes thereof since I worked in retail – we used these to attach price tags. All you pros out there no doubt already have one of these jewels, but since I’d never seen one outside of a retail store, I was duly impressed. I put it to good use. It came with 500 little thingies (aren’t they called thingies??), and I have about 30 or so left. Got just a wee little bit carried away. But now there are NO PINS to stick me while I’m wrestling this around on the machine.

see those little thingies? they hold the two fabrics together. clever, eh?

see those little thingies? they hold the two fabrics together. clever, eh?

The whole idea for recording this here is to make myself accountable. My friend says there’s no rush on this project, even though she probably wants to send it to her niece within this century. So if I chronicle the progress here, then I’m declaring I will finish it before the snow flies – this year’s snow. So, y’all keep me accountable here, y’hear?

I think I prefer snow flies to fruit flies any day. I thought you should know that about me.
13 thoughts on “I’m a tortoise with a hare trigger

    • yup – proof is in my second project lying on the other sewing table. I took the pocket apart 3 times because I got in a big hurry and cut it wrong. I was glad I had extra material to *fix* it with, at least! 😦

      Like

  1. you, my dear friend, always do a great job, no matter what you’re working on…you have an eye for flare….that’s what I love about you……looking good so fay BTW. ❤

    Like

    • Aw shucks, ya make me blush. OH – and that little machine works pretty good, hardly jammed at all. Now to see if the material stays together well enough when I lift it off the table and over to the machine. 😆

      Like

    • Well, I don’t know which is winning right now – the tortoise or the hare. I took the time to make sure it was all flat and tied together with those thingies. But last night I just went for it! I started sewing around some of the duckies, using the Janome (it has a walking foot), but I think I cut the ends of the thread a bit short in my haste to get to the next ducky. I just hope I remembered to backstitch! duh

      Like

  2. Good luck with the two types of fabrics. I would recommend you use a ball point needle since you have a Knit on the bottom. Might go through a little more smoothly. (I think I would have spray basted!) I do not like knits, especially slippery ones! Thanks for stopping in to my blog and your nice comment.

    Like

    • uff da! I didn’t think of the ball point needle. I’ll change it before I get any further along (yep, the hare trigger took over last night). And I didn’t think of spray basting either. Duh. Well, live n learn, eh? Thanks so much for these two helps – I’ll remember them when I do the next knit project.

      Like

    • well…I thought I’d put a ball point needle in tonight. Reckon I’d better buy one before I can do that. Bummer. Oh well, I’ll just keep working with what I’ve got til I can get to the store. 😆

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

