Country Callie and Cowboy Cody

Bibs are fun to make, especially the ones that are fun to make. Yah, go figure that one out. ๐Ÿ˜†

These last two were the MOST fun to make, and I would love to see them on a baby. I found a picture in a Better Homes & Gardens craft book from 1986, and just had to try them out. The bib pattern was very small, but done in a gridwork that was made to be enlarged. I didn’t use that for the country girl bib, but did try it on the cowboy one. I don’t actually think I like it, so the next one will just be the regular bib pattern I already had. But I’m tellin’ ya, these are the CUTEST lil critters!! Both bibs in the BH&G book were made with ties, but I have this irrational fear of tying things around a baby’s neck, so I made them both with Velcro closings.

The country girl (I named it Country Callie) one was made from a scrap of fabric I didn’t even remember I had, and a little piece of eyelet that had gotten washed with something red and came out pinkish. I started out to just make a little round collar, kinda like a necklace, but I didn’t really like that look after I got it finished.

SO … what’s my claim to fame? Yep, make it once, then make it again. I didn’t change a lot on this one – just cut that little eyelet necklace down the front and hemmed it to make a little collar, and then put three little ย buttons down the front, and made a little bow. That was how the original picture in the book was, so I did it their way. Sometimes there’s something to be said for following the suggested method!

The cowboy, though … oh, that lil cowboy! I just fell in love with that one – had to name it Cowboy Cody. But, as usual, I didn’t have all the stuff I needed, so I had to improvise. I could truthfully sing, “Yes, we have no bandanas, we have no bandanas today.” I did have a scrap of bandana material from another long-ago project that I found, so I made do. The main part is cut from the leg of a (yep, you guessed it!) pair of old jeans in my jeans box. It looked rather plain when I got it done, so I embroidered something on the bottom. If you can’t read it in the picture, it says, “Let’s rustle up some grub, pardner!”

It’s not nearly as full as I would like it, and it wasn’t long enough to make the ends into a knot. I figured a way around that too – just sew another little piece on and tie that in a knot. Well, that would’ve worked great … if I’d sewn the proper length on. But NOOOOOO … I don’t DO that. I sew an itty bitty short piece on each side.

What to do then? Improvise AGAIN. I had a little scrap of the scrap left, so I just made a piece to loop around the first improvisation and make it LOOK like it was tied in a knot. Maybe I should go into improv. Jes sayin …

Anyway, nuff said. Here are my two darlins. I love them so much I think I’ll make them some cousins.

But that’s not all, folks! I was busy making a couple of other fun things too, which is why I haven’t been keepin’ up with y’all very well. And it ain’t over – got lots of stuff to make for our July 4th sales booth, so gotta git er dun. I finally used *almost* all of my size 12 leather pants, and made a wallet to match the purse I kept. I didn’t think there was enough left of those jammies for the lining, but hey – that’s why I save the slivers!!

Wanna see? It took me days of walking around it, looking at it, laying it out and sizing it up, to finally get it put together. I finally gave up and just looked at the one I’d made a couple of years ago to refresh my memory of how to do it. Went a whole lot faster after that. I know, I know. And YOU know – I don’t do things the most logical way, but I do finally get things done. ๐Ÿ˜†

Oh yeah…also made a couple of little pouches from the last of that zebra material, for the girl I’d made the flop-top purse for, as a Christmas gift. I think she liked them … sometimes it’s hard to tell with a 14-year-old (these were for her birthday), but I’m thinking she was happy. Who wouldn’t love zebra striped mini-pouches?? And there is STILL a tiny scrap left – oh, what to do, what to do???

7 thoughts on “Country Callie and Cowboy Cody

    • ๐Ÿ˜† yeah, I knew you meant *your* instead of *you* – sometimes my mind finishes a word for me but forgets to send the message to my fingers. ๐Ÿ˜†
      I did another bib (I’m on a bib-binge!) last night, from a description a friend gave me of one her kids had when they were little. so cute! and reversible!!

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

