The Spencer-Sensor and How It Works

Hard at work, doing its job

Hard at work, doing its job

Yes, Spencer has a sensor. He’s quite adept at using it, too. It’s a finely tuned instrument, able to detect the tiniest crumb in the most remote fold of clothing, and that long nose is perfectly shaped to push its way through protesting hands and go right to the source. And he usually gets what he came for! I can boast quite often of a crumb-free environment surrounding my person, thanks to the Spencer-Sensor.

Did you know that sensor is adaptable? Yes, I’ve watched it work its amazing feats at my feets … er … feet. Case in point: As I was preparing the bread for the dressing, it seems I was a bit sloppier than usual. Not to worry!! The Spencer-Sensor came to my rescue, and completely removed any trace of my clumsiness, even to the crumbs that lodged themselves on the top of my bare feet. I gotta tell ya, though – that tickles!! But the floor was mopped clean, my toes were mopped clean, and there wasn’t even a crumb left lurking in the folds of my jeans legs.

I have found certain items the Spencer-Sensor doesn’t remove once detected. As I was assembling the spinach salad, once again the clumsy gene took over my hands. About three leaves fell at my feet, and were immediately detected. And left lying there, slightly sampled and discarded as unworthy of the Sensor’s attention. Later, after our Christmas dinner, I noticed one of the kids had dropped a dried cranberry on the kitchen floor, where the Spencer-Sensor was busily cleaning up all evidence of our dinner droppings. He came to the cranberry, sucked it up, and immediately ejected. He sniffed and licked and sampled his way all around that cranberry, sniffing it and rejecting it. After awhile I got to feeling plumb sorry for that little cranberry and gently carried it to its final resting place, in our compost bucket.

So, that’s how I make the most efficient use of my Spencer-Sensor every day, but especially during holiday cooking. He’s also a very adept mine sweeper, by the way. He will sweep any area thoroughly, claiming anything within his reach as “Mine!” I think he learned that from the two-year-old. But that’s a story for another day. πŸ™‚

How was YOUR Christmas day? Got any Spencer-Sensors and mine sweepers at your house??

(And yes, I did forget on this post too, to mention that world-famous WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge, “Just Do It.” So here’s the mention!)

7 thoughts on “The Spencer-Sensor and How It Works

  1. Yes! We’ve got the same sort of maid service around here! If something hits the floor, you just have to call out “dogs!” and someone will rush over and help out! It’s so much easier to keep tidy, imagine not having a dog for the crumbs?! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I saw your post at the forum and your blog name sounded interesting, so I came by.

    We have a dog, a Plott hound. He is sometimes picky about droppings. Sunday afternoon, we discovered our chicken had a surprise… guts! I am a boneless, skinless chicken type of person, but our organic lady gave us a whole chicken. Eew, parts! “Hubby, could you deal with this please?” I am glad he found the guts, but none of us were willing to eat them. So we put them in the dog dish with his food. He ate a couple pieces, but one of them he spit out. He sniffed it again, not sure what to think and grudgingly ate it. Maybe he sensed our disdain???

    Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

