The Story of the Grim Ripper (or, How I Killed My Best Friend)

Today was a good day.

I finished a purse I’d been walking around, staring at, scheming on pocket placements and lining ideas, and trying to figure out how to make it a little bigger. It stayed small, I found a suitable lining material (had it all along!), and the pockets finally came together really rather well.

front side

front of my new favorite purse

backside

back view

Then, since I was on a roll, I made not one, but TWO tortilla warmers – one to replace ours that I’d sold, and one for our Christmas gift exchange at a party this coming week.

for us!

for us!

Christmas gift

for them (whoever ends up with it at the Christmas party)

That wasn’t enough. I was so wound up by this time that I started a little bag (what I refer to as a teen bag) for my friend’s daughter. And it was going along so well. Got the layout and the lining all done with very little walking, scheming, staring, plotting, and planning.

the lining - NOT silver!

not exactly a silver lining – but still cute

crime scene

the culprit

And that’s when it happened.

Right in the middle of a very crucial step, I killed my best friend . . . such a grim scene. My poor seam ripper was beheaded, and in a most gruesome fashion. I finally found the missing point, stuck way up inside that nasty, stubborn seam that wouldn’t cooperate and disintegrate like a good seam should.

the grim ripper

It was very sad, folks, not to mention a bit irritating. That ended an otherwise productive day. So – how was YOUR day??

7 thoughts on “The Story of the Grim Ripper (or, How I Killed My Best Friend)

  1. Hahahahahaha! I have totally done that! How in the world do we get so attached to our seam rippers? I guess it’s the amount of time we spend working with them. Thanks for sharing you made me smile.

    I’m trying to get my blog/s started. I’ll let you know when I do.

    Like

    • I had to replace the poor thing, but I must confess I’m not as fond of this one; maybe it’ll grow on me. πŸ˜†
      I am looking forward to your blog/s – you know I’ll be a devoted follower as soon as you’re up & running!!

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

