Well, whadya know – it WORKS!

OK, so I tried this hint I found on Pinterest a few weeks ago, on a site called diy home sweet home, about cleaning my oven window with baking soda and water. Well, that hint was getting mixed reviews from all the readers, so naturally I had to try it myself. It did clean the oven window, although not completely, and it took a good bit of elbow grease mixed in with the soda – pretty messy combination. But it was what I found in the comments that REALLY made me curious. It was about cleaning the wood stove window with the ashes from the fire. She said she tried the same method on her oven door and it worked much better than the baking soda. Uh huh…yep, had to give that a whirl.

We have a wood stove in our family room, and use it almost exclusively to heat the house during the winter months. The window gets pretty dirty, pretty quickly. So, since I was already in the mood for trying new things, I had to try that one. I would link to that person if they would’ve left their name, but it’s difficult to link to “Anonymous.” Anyway, I tried her suggestion on the oven door, on the wood stove door – even on the tea kettle! Same results on all three: clean. Very clean. And no nasty chemical smell from oven cleaner (which I refuse to buy EVER again!).

So, with all that said, here is proof that the ash cleaning experiment really works on the wood stove (naturally, I forgot to take pictures of the oven door procedure). And I love looking at the fire through a clean window! Woo Hoo!! Oh, and by the way . . . you don’t even have to use new paper towels for the washing part – that’s where the REmissionary part comes in. You can use a paper towel you’ve just wiped the counter with, or one you’ve used for drying your hands, or even one that’s been used for cleaning the windows. I did use new ones to rinse the window with, and then tossed them all into the fire when I was finished.

Got any other helpful tidbits you’d care to toss my way? It’s OK, I can take a hint!

OH . . . (enter Columbo) just one more thing. This week I’d like to dedicate these photos to Sandra Conner’s Thursday’s Windows photo challenge, since I’ve missed the last few. So Sandra, here’s lookin’ at ya! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Well, whadya know – it WORKS!

  1. Now I just need some ash not to mention the wood stove Hmmmm seems I need to start from scratch but thank you LubbyGirl I will be well equipped, especially as I’m always using paper towels but I did very much like your photos, they brought back memories of our Chip heater and in comparison to an electric one which is boring they are just so good, I use to love watching the flames flicking, that is when you could see through the glass. πŸ™„

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

    • yes, I do love our wood stove. I’ve never had a chip heater before. We have one of those Amish fireplaces in the living room, but it’s not nearly as mesmerizing as a real fire. Glad I’m not prone to arson!! πŸ™‚ (btw…how do you get those adorable animated smiley faces??)

      Like

      • Hi again LubbyGirl, you may find this comment twice, I posted it and it showed needing to be moderated but as I have commented many times before on your Blog this should not have happened unless you have changed your settings but as others say they haven’t and my comments sometimes went into Spam please check and you can delete this one if you get both.

        Like you LubbyGirl I love Smileys and I’m very thankful to WordPress that they make them available. When I was unable to leave a Like to encourage others I used Smileys instead on my Blogging friends Posts. I also love Animations and use them a lot, so you can imagine how excited I was when I found WordPress instructions on the Internet and discovered there were also Animated ones, I was just looking for the regular Smileys but I found both ( see link below ) but just in case we become famous after using them we may need to disguise ourselves ….Have fun!

        http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies

        A Smiley can say what we what to say, in it’s own unique way… I wonder if they will have Smileys in Heaven Hmmmm of course they will but they will be forever on our faces! Love Annie.

        Reply ↓ — Original Message —– From: the REmissionary To: freedombornronanne7437@dodo.com.au Sent: Monday, December 03, 2012 6:42 AM Subject: [New comment] Well, whadya know – it WORKS!

        LubbyGirl commented: “yes, I do love our wood stove. I’ve never had a chip heater before. We have one of those Amish fireplaces in the living room, but it’s not nearly as mesmerizing as a real fire. Glad I’m not prone to arson!! πŸ™‚ (btw…how do you get those adorable animat”

        Like

        • You know what’s really weird? My own replies to some comments have been going into the spam folder – what’s up with THAT??? Both of these came through, and I have no idea why they’re having to be approved now. I have it set to approve all after the first comment is approved. Go figure!

          Like

  2. Hi again LubbyGirl, like you I love Smileys and I’m very thankful to WordPress that they make them available. When I was unable to leave a Like to encourage others I used Smileys instead on my Blogging friends Posts. I also love Animations and use them a lot, so you can imagine how excited I was when I found WordPress instructions on the Internet and discovered there were also Animated ones, I was just looking for the regular Smileys but I found both ( see link below ) but just in case we become famous after using them we may need to disguise ourselves ….Have fun! 😎

    http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies

    A Smiley can say what we what to say, in it’s own unique way… I wonder if they will have Smileys in Heaven Hmmmm of course they will but they will be forever on our faces! Love Annie.

    Like

  3. I read your post about using ash to clean windows and it brought back memories of when we had a wood fire. I used to clean it routinely with the ash. Not sure where I found out to do this, but someone must have told me!

    Like

    • Yes…now that you mention it…I do remember my mother doing this when I was a kid. I guess I blocked that memory – had a mental block against work, and that was work. Funny how Mother was always trying to instill a work ethic in her kids, and we resisted strenuously. Must be where I developed that bratty alter-ego. πŸ˜†

      Like

  4. Hi, I have no wood stove, but like you, I refuse to buy cleaners. We make our own soap with a recipe from my grandma (5 lit of water, 5 lit of oil, 1 kg caustic soda, 1 handful salt, mixed for an hour), and I remember she told me that they made bleach mixing ashes with water (I don’t know the amounts). I am also found of the cleaning power of lemon and vinegar =)
    Your blog is very inspiring =) Thank you

    Like

    • aw shucks…thanks so much. I’m getting ready to make some laundry soap some time this week, my first time to make the liquid kind, so I hope it turns out well. I just cleaned my stove window again a couple of days ago, same method. I love it! no chemicals!!

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

