The Phoenix Rises

step one – remember this?

finished bag!

Well, I said I’d git er dun before the end of the week. I did. Just barely. And no doubt too late for the WP Photo Challenge of renewal, but at least it’s done. πŸ™‚ Β And here it is: the Phoenix bag, made from the last leg of hubby’s jeans, the last piece of material from the Three Sisters bags I made earlier in the year, and a piece of fabric I picked up at a yard sale somewhere. I tried to remember to take pictures as I went…here they are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “The Phoenix Rises

  1. Wow, I love your Phoenix…I mean purse! Do you use an industrial machine or a household sewing machine? The stitching is very nice, and with all those thicknesses, many (most!) household machines have trouble sewing through. Or if they do, the stitching isn’t very good. The walking foot also made me think industrial machine. Thanks for the tutorial πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much…I used my Janome – I don’t have an industrial one, but when I sew these thicknesses I use a jeans needle so it goes through really easily. I kind of walk it through the really thick parts, manually turning the thingamabob (my mind just went blank on what the wheel is called). And I absolutely LOVE my walking foot – I use it for the tortilla warmers too, so the batting doesn’t creep & crawl all over.

      Like

    • Aw shucks…thanks so much. I couldn’t sew a straight line either, til I started watching the edge of the presser foot and keeping the material lined up with it. It seems to help me keep it straight and on the seam line. Whatever works, eh? πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

