Why You Sew and Sew – Round Two

Well, I did it again.

Remember the purse from “Why You Sew and Sew”? The one I took completely apart and remade? That one.

I made another one from that same pattern, only this time I actually did what I said I was going to do in the first remake. I put that 3″ strip along the sides and left the darts out. Oh – and decided on rings for the handles too – kinda like this:

pleated strip, phone pocket

Kinda hard to tell, but that strip made this purse quite a bit larger. Look closely and you’ll see that I cannot resist pockets. I had to put a little phone pocket there…or notepad pocket…or hanky pocket…or….pocket pocket!

The inside is some pretty nifty-spifty pajama…er…uhm…slinky leopard print material. Oh, OK, so it is from an old pair of jammies.  I am, after all, the REmissionary. Gotta use what I’ve got handy, right? There is something to be said for a tiny bit of weight gain. I got a perfectly good – but totally unfit (ha ha) – pair of pajamas for my purse-making stash out of the whole deal.

Speaking of the inside…it is pretty cool, actually.

one of those fun pockets I put in every single purse

Naturally, no good REmissionary project goes unchanged. I got it all put together (as is my custom) and discovered something I’d done wrong. To redo it would entail taking the purse apart. Not gonna happen this time. Nope. Here’s what I did wrong and didn’t notice til it was together:

a wee bit too big

See that tiny detail there? Where it sticks up just a bit above the purse? Not supposed to do that – and ESPECIALLY not supposed to do it crooked like that. I had to find a way to make it right without taking the whole thing apart. That is not fun. So I pondered and studied and walked around it and looked at it and left it and came back to it and….none of that was working. A decision had to be made, because it was getting close to time to give this to the new owner. And I wanted it to work right. Sooooooo…..I wondered what would happen if I just pinched up that extra stuff and folded it down and just sewed it. I clipped it down and looked at it and walked around it and studied it and left it and came back to it. Not working. I tried sticking little metal rings in the fold for decorating, but that would mean I’d have to sew the thing in, and that would look just – well – dumb. Back to the pondering and so forth. Then I picked up a piece of the lining material and folded it and stuck it up in that fold.

a bit of scrap material

Not much to look at like this, but I could see possibilities here. Had to try it! I stuck it up into that little fold, and A.MAZ.ING!! the difference it made in the looks!

new and improved version

So, here is the original version of this second purse, and the *new and improved* version. Tell me, can you see any difference?? And would you want a purse like this? There’s enough outer material for one more small one – but no more jammies. Reckon I need to grow out of these new jammies now. Or maybe not. I’ll just buy some liner material!

One thought on “Why You Sew and Sew – Round Two

Comments release endorphins. FREEDOM TO THE ENDORPHINS!

